new york · Uncategorized

Train like an athlete for free!

It feels like I’ve tried a million different workouts since moving to New York, but one sticks in my mind the most: F45 Training. Imagine a playground for adults (but kids at heart) that makes you stronger. That’s what you get here. This is an Australian studio that just opened in Flatiron/Chelsea that is a 45-minute workout of functional training, meaning that you strengthen your body for everyday tasks.

  1. Philosophy. Fitness is important not because it’s “bikini season” or because you want a hot butt. Yes, working out consistently and properly will make you toned and lean, but the way we look is really based on what we eat. Fitness is important for our hearts, our joints, and our bone density, for example. I don’t want to use a walker when I’m older, and my scoliosis gets in the way of my youth. Something that I love about F45 is the “functional” part. They don’t tell you to squat for looking hot; you squat because it is a full-body strengthening exercise. YES. F45, you are the best.
  2. Best trainers in the world. The two trainers I worked with the most, Gareth and Dina, are not only extremely knowledgeable and helpful, but WOW are they supportive! I went to their classes before work every day, and their uplifting and motivating personalities made my mornings. They would cheer me on, they would correct and improve my form, and they would stand by me to make sure not only I understood the correction but that I implemented it. The classes are small training sessions, so it feels like you’re getting nearly individualized attention even in a group class.
  3. Switching it up daily. Each day is themed differently than the next. For instance, on Sundays, they only have “Brooklyn” classes, which are focused on boxing. Each day’s classes have a different name and a different focus for the 45 minutes of exercises. Not only that, but the day’s workout has many different components. You cannot get bored, and the only way to get through the 45 minutes is by having fun (seriously). You only have to do this one hard exercise a few times and then that’s it, you’re done!…until you begin the next hard exercise!
  4. FYI. I did their two-week trial after they opened in May, and I am STILL thinking about it every single day. Let me warn you before your heart breaks like mine: it’s $400+ a month for unlimited membership. That is the ONLY reason I stopped going because if rent and food weren’t essential to living (water is free in New York), I’d just give them all my money. But that doesn’t work for those of us broke in New York!

They also have a great shower/locker room, fully stocked with everything you need. This is an excellent small business and I could sing their praises all day, every day. 

Email flatiron@f45training.com and let them know Julianne S. from “How to Be Broke in New York” sent you for your free trial. Good luck not getting too addicted!

F45 Training: 123 W. 20th St., 1E, New York, NY 10011

Leave a Reply

